Join Now | Print Page | Sign In

Paul B. Bell Award                      

The Paul B. Bell Award is established by the Association of School Business Officials of Maryland and the District of Columbia to commemorate Paul's dedication and affection for ASBO and his contribution to Howard County Public Schools. Paul Bell was a long-time member of ASBO MD&DC and served as President from 1993 to 1994.


The Paul B. Bell Award will be given to recognize a current member of ASBO MD&DC who has demonstrated exemplary contributions to schools, community, and ASBO. The recipient shall exhibit a special commitment to the children and taxpayers of Maryland and the District of Columbia. Through the selection and presentation of this award, the Board of Directors wishes to confirm the pledge contained in the Aims and Objectives of the ASBO MD&DC Constitution.

Aims and Objectives
The promulgation and establishment of the highest standards of ethics and efficiency in business methods and practices. The study, analysis and dissemination of the most efficient methods and practices in all matters pertaining to school business administration. Comprehensive and progressive study of school business requirements and the establishment of efficient standards.

You are urged to give careful consideration to the nomination of an ASBO MD&DC member who you believe is deserving of this award. Nominations may be made by ASBO members, co-workers, supervisors, board members, or governement officials.

Nominees must be current ASBO MD&DC members as described in the Constitution. Members of the Board of Directors of the Association are not eligible during their terms of office.

All nominations must be submitted to the Executive Director at by February 1st. Please note that the application and accompanying materials are confidential and will not be returned to the nominator nor to the nominee. The award will be presented annually unless the Selection Committee determines otherwise. Applications will remain valid for a period of three (3) years.

All documentation should be assembled in a manner that will convince the Selection Committee that this nominee is an exceptional ASBO MD&DC member.

To learn how to apply and what the requirements are, click here.

Past Paul B. Bell Award Recipients:

2019 Stephen Starmer

2018 John Cavanaugh

2017 Nancy Codner

2016 Suzanne Jones

2014 Scott Germain

2013 Douglas Pindell, RSBA 

2012  Barbara Regalia

2011  Milton E. Nagel, CPA, RSBA 

2010  John Markowski, CPA, RSBA

2009  James J. Lupis, Jr.

2008  Margaret Ellen Kalmanowicz, RSBO

2006  Allen R. Gaddis, III

2005  John T. Case, RSBO

2002  Yale Stenzler

2001  Fay W. Miller, RSBA

1998  Carol Parham

1997  Stephen M. Raucher, EdD, RSBA

1996  Charles L. Wineland, RSBA

1995  Kenneth W. Nickoles, RSBO