Fay Miller Education Award

    Each year, ASBO MD-DC awards the Fay Miller Education Leadership Eagle Institute scholarship to ASBO International's Eagle Institute, a four day learning experience taught by highly regarded professionals in the field.  Taught through a historical lens, this program explores issues of school business management and leadership, and is held at various locations of great historical significance, for example, Gettysburg, Philadelphia, and Washington D.C.

    Fay Miller, the inspiration for this award, served as Assistant Superintendent of Administrative Services for the Kent County Public Schools for 22 years and has been a member of ASBO MD-DC since 1982 and ASBO International since 1986. She has served in various leadership roles in both organizations and received the very prestigious ASBOI Eagle Award in 2006. The Fay Miller Education Leadership Eagle Institute Award is made annually to an ASBO MD-DC member in recognition of Fay’s exemplary service to education, commitment to excellence, and demonstrated leadership skills in the belief  that her career serves as an inspiration to all school business professionals.

    The scholarship award covers Institute registration, hotel accommodations, all conference meals and travel costs - a value of in excess of $2,000.00.

    Applications are due by April 1st. To learn how to apply and what the requirements are, click here.


    Past Recipients

    2019 - Craig Blackwell, Howard County Public Schools

    2018 - Terri Lundskow, Charles County Public Schools

    2017 - Thomas Mulligan, Frederick County Public Schools

    2016 - Chris Hauge, Dorchester County Public Schools

    2015 - Glen Belmore, Charles County Public Schools

    2014 - Scott Germain, Garrett County Public Schools

    2013 - Jeff LaPorta, CPPB, Harford County Public Schools

    2012 - Vicky Mayle, St. Mary's County Public Schools

    2011 - Doreen Heath, Montgomery County Public Schools